Vision, Hearing, Spinal Screening Certification and Re-Certification

  • Custom Dates
  • Free

In compliance with the Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 37, all children will be screened for vision and hearing. It is a requirement for all school-aged children from 4 years old, students in kindergarten, first, third, fifth, seventh, and any other first time entrants (4 years through 12th grade) to have their vision, and hearing screened by September. Certified screeners conduct the screening.

To obtain your vision and hearing screening certification, you must attend and pass the Department of State Health Services certification training. The certification is valid for five years. The requirement for renewing the certification is to attend and pass another certification (re-certification) training.

Spinal Screening: The spinal screening program established by the Texas Legislature is conducted at public and private schools to identify students with abnormal spinal curves. The student will receive a referral if there is a need for further assessment. In compliance with the Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 37, all children according to the adopted schedule shall undergo screening for abnormal spinal curvature.

Girls will be screened two times, once at age 10 (or fall semester of grade 5) and again at age 12 (or fall semester of grade 7).

Boys will be screened one time at age 13 or 14 (or fall semester of grade 8).

The Texas Department of State Health Services is responsible for providing a certification program for spinal screening. Qualified individuals are trained to become certified school spinal screeners. The certification is valid for five years. The certification may be renewed by attending and passing another certification training.